For fantasy football beginners, the scoring configurations might be a little bit confusing. You can find your scoring configuration in your league settings, but I thought I would try to break it down here a little bit to show you how some scoring differs from league to league.

Standard Leagues

The majority of fantasy football leagues involve standard scoring. If you were to just go to any of the major fantasy football websites and join a public league, it would be a standard scoring league. No matter which fantasy service you use, the scoring system is pretty similar in a standard league.

Typical roster setup:

  • 1 quarterback
  • 2 running backs
  • 2 wide receivers
  • 1 tight end
  • 1 kicker
  • 1 team defense
  • Flex spot(s)

The flex spots can vary by league, but, in that spot, an owner is typically allowed to start either another RB, WR, or TE.

Typical scoring configuration:

  • 10 rushing yards = 1 point
  • 10 receiving yards = 1 point
  • Rushing/receiving touchdown = 6 points
  • 25 passing yards = 1 point
  • Passing touchdown = 4 points
  • Fumbles lost/interceptions thrown = -2 to -3 points

Defenses get points based on how few points they allow. They also get 6 points for any defensive touchdown, as well as points for interceptions, sacks, and fumbles recovered.

Kickers get points for field goals and extra points made.


PPR Leagues

Points-per-reception (PPR) leagues reward wide receivers and running backs for making receptions. Each reception awards an extra point to the player who catches the ball. In some leagues, they only receive a half point per reception. This scoring format changes the drafts and free agent pickups, for sure.


IDP Leagues

Individual defensive player (IDP) leagues bring an extra element to fantasy football. Instead of starting a team defense, each fantasy team has a roster of defensive players. IDPs get points for tackles, sacks, interceptions, forced fumbles, fumble recoveries, safeties, and touchdowns.



Some leagues give bonuses when players reach certain milestones or accomplish difficult feats. Point values are usually determined by the league commissioner. Some of these include:

  • 400 yards passing
  • 200 yards rushing
  • 200 yards receiving
  • Shutouts by team defenses
  • 40+ or 50+ yard field goal attempts

Touchdowns over a certain yardage length (passing, rushing, or receiving)